What Did They Just Say?

I watched the national chamionship on Monday…great game.  I am not especially a Kansas fan, at least I don’t have the disdain for them I do for Duke.  (Seriously, out in the first round last year to VCU, and then out this year in the second round to West Virginia, after squeeking by Belmont?) As I watched a couple of the Kansas games I kept hearing their chant.  I asked my wife what they were saying, and said it sounded like Rock, Chalk, Jayhawk.  I assumed I had misheard, because that is just stupid.   Come to find out, that is exactly what they are saying.  I then assumed there was a reason, a good reason, they shouted this at all their sporting events.  Come to find out, there isn’t.  They used to say Rah, Rah, Jayhawk, until an english professor said they should change it to Rock, Chalk because apparently Lawrence, Kansas is surrounded by limestone, and it had the benefit of rhyming with Jayhawk.  Don’t believe me, read this. Next time you watch a Kansas game, remember they are screaming at the top of their lungs:  WE ARE SURROUNDED BY ROCKS THAT CAN BE USED AS CHALK, AND HAS THE BENEFIT OF RHYMING WITH OUR MASCOT!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

