Where Can I Start?

Have you ever been exposed to something, knew it was a problem, knew it was close to the heart of God, but didn’t know how to get involved or where to start?

The more I hear about poverty, disease, illiteracy, and corruption, the more I feel like I, and the church have to make our mark on the issue.

God talks about the poor and oppressed 2100 times in the Bible! We need to care about the things God cares about, and hate the things God hates.

The question for me has been where to start. How can I affect change, no matter how small, in areas so far away, with problems that are so big. I am just one guy, and The Bridge is a church re-plant trying to make its way.

I recently taught on the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31, and felt incredibly convicted by verse twenty:

She extends her hand to the poor, and she stretches out her hands to the needy

I felt like I needed to start finding a way to get involved. I had to do something.

If you are like me, with questions, hopes, and beliefs about what the world could be if we just did something…check these resources:

Listen to: Mars Hill podcast “The X, Y, Z’s”

Click: Kiva.org; World Relief; Opportunity International

Watch: Small Fortunes (PBS/Google it)

Read: Banker to the Poor by Muhammad Yunnas

Educate: Take classes @ The Chalmers Center (distance learning available)

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts and Ideas

Leave a Reply

